Scientific Council


  • Tõnu Tender
Director of the Institute, Chairman of the Council
  • Margit Langemets
Chief Editor of Dictionaries, Head of the Dictionary Department, Vice Chairman of the Council
  • Tiina Laansalu
Head of Research, Head of the Department of the History and Dialects of the Estonian Language and the Finno-Ugric Languages, Secretary of the Council
  • Meelis Mihkla
Head of the Department of Speech Research and Technology
  • Tõnis Nurk
Acting Head of the Language Resources and Language Technology Department
  • Kai Oro
Head of Personnel and Administration Department
  • Peeter Päll
Chief Language Planner, Head of the Language Planning Department
  • Tiina Soon
Head of the Terminology Department
  • Hille Pajupuu
Leading Researcher
  • Kristiina Ross
Leading Researcher
  • Jüri Viikberg
Senior Lexicographer
  • Martin Eessalu
Delegate of the Research Department of the Ministry of Education and Research, Chief Expert
  • Sirli Zupping
Delegate of the Language Department of the Ministry of Education and Research, Adviser
  • Helle Metslang
Delegate of the Institute of Estonian and General Linguistics, University of Tartu, Professor
  • Reili Argus
Delegate of the School of Humanities, Tallinn University, Professor
  • Karl Pajusalu
Delegate of the Mother Tongue Society, Professor of Tartu University
  • Meelis Pirn
Attorney-at-Law, The Barrister Law Firm